HOME             ABOUT             REVIEWS             BOOK LISTS             CONTACT             LINKS

Pages

Monday, 20 June 2016

4 books for fans of contemporary YA

My fiction reading may not be at the pace of my pre-masters lifestyle but I am still reading. I just hardly ever have time to write about it.

I've read four contemporary young adults novels in the past few months and they were all really rewarding reads.

1) Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach

Blurb:
Parker Santé hasn't spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching (and sometimes stealing from) the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he'll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

My thoughts:
This was bitter-sweet. I didn't cry when I read it. And I can't say that it was a sweeping off your feet romance. It was deeper and I suppose more troubling than that. But I found it enthralling. I think this book will appeal to both genders. It didn't find it sentimental.

2) Rebel Geek Bully Pariah by Erin Lange

Blurb:
The truth is that jail is a place where you can still hold on to hope - hope you'll be bailed out, hope you'll be found innocent, hope you'll get a second chance.
Four teenagers, never destined to be friends - one rebel, one bully, one geek and one pariah, find themselves on the run from corrupt police officers in a stolen police car. How can you prove your innocence when the people who are supposed to protect you are the ones out to get you?
A beautiful, thrilling story of rebellion, and of friendship triumphing against all odds.

My thoughts:
I read Dead Ends last year and I really enjoyed it. So I was keen to read this as soon as I bought it. Lange didn't disappoint. It was daft in places but I liked it all the more for that. The twist at the end didn't come as a surprise but it was an entirely satisfying read. It was about friendship, difference and finding yourself. I really enjoyed it.

3) We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

Blurb:
Before Ardor, we let ourselves be defined by labels - the athlete, the outcast, the slacker, the overachiever. But then we all looked up and everything changed. They said the asteroid would be here in two months. That gave us two months to leave our labels behind. Two months to become something bigger than what we'd been, something that would last even after the end. Two months to really live.

My thoughts:
After reading Thanks for the Trouble, I knew I had to give this a go. (Thanks to Simon and Schuster for the review copy. They sent it ages ago!).

This book is a dark and brooding contemporary read. The potential end of the world doesn't always bring out the best in humanity. But in fact, this book made me laugh at times. It was the dialogue. There were some great one liners! I liked the ambiguity in the plot too.

4) The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Blurb:
Andie has a plan and she always sticks to the plan.
Future? A top tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid as much as possible (which isn't that hard considering he's a Congressman and never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby - pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one's worth more than three weeks.
So it's no surprise she's got her summer all planned out too.
Until a political scandal cancels her summer pre-med internship, and lands both her and Dad back in the same house for the first time in years. Suddenly she's doing things that aren't Andie at all - working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark in closer than expected. Palmer, Bri and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but here's the thing ... can she?

My thoughts:
Well thank goodness I have read all Morgan Matson's other books because with a cover like that, I would not have bought this book otherwise. I know that's judgmental but it is the truth. I can't help but think I'm not really the target audience for this book but I loved it. My favourite out of each of these titles (and they were all great in their own way). It was hopelessly romantic. A total page-turner. I couldn't wait to get home from work to finish it.

******************

I highly recommend all four of these contemporary reads. I could with some summer contemporary suggestions for the holiday. Any ideas?

No comments: